As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Illinois. … Even with a negative test, travelers are advised to stay home and avoid nonessential activities for a week upon their return. Editor's note: This story was last updated on November 2, 2020. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in South Carolina, however those returning from travel in the previous 14 days are asked to stay home as much as possible. If you are planning to travel to another state, province or country to take your examination, please be advised that you should check for any travel advisories issued by the appropriate governmental authorities before your travel begins. If you are visiting for more than three days, get tested within 3-5 days of arrival. It looks like you are getting insurance for only one day of travel, is this correct? As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Nebraska. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Georgia. All passengers are subject to mandatory 10-day quarantine, unless a negative COVID-19 antigen or molecular (PCR, NAAT, or isothermal) test is collected no more than 72 hours prior to arrival. All passengers traveling to Hawaii are subject to temperature checks and a mandatory 10-day quarantine in a home or hotel room. They must have documentation of their positive PCR test result, including the date it was taken. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Arkansas. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Louisiana. If the result is negative, they are free to resume their activities. You then can update your quote on the following page. For travel to Hawaii, pets are not permitted to travel in the cabin and other restrictions may apply. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Indiana. As of Jan. 27, there were no statewide restrictions in North Dakota. If you have been in close contact with a confirmed positive case, do not travel. Those with no symptoms who opt not to have a coronavirus test can leave on Day 11. those who are fully vaccinated against the coronavirus. To make sure you are well prepared, we have created a simple packing checklist for your travels: This guidance of United States Pandemic Travel Restrictions by State is provided for informational and educational purposes only. Those who fail to comply with the rules face fines of up to $500 per day. Travelers from these areas are required to quarantine for 10 days or a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival. Maui and Kauai counties are requesting another free voluntary test 72 hours after arrival. Travelers and residents returning after 24 hours or more in any place other than New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania and Delaware are asked to get a coronavirus test one to three days before their trip, and then again three to five days after arriving in New Jersey. Guam - English; Honolulu - English; Vietnam - English; Travel Advisory. Those entering the state must either obtain a negative test in the 72 hours before arriving in Maryland or immediately upon arrival. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Montana. The results should be submitted via a travel health form within five days of travel, and within 48 hours, a travel certification should be sent that is required to board a flight to the islands. © 2000-2021 IMT Services, LLC. They can also get out of quarantine by producing the needed test result. States with a diagnosed virus rate three times that of Kansas may be added to a quarantine list. Illinois has no statewide travel restrictions, however, an Emergency Travel Order still applies to people entering/returning to the city of Chicago. Animal Health Certificate: Dated not more than 14 days before the travel, certifying that the animal is free from clinical signs of infectious or contagious disease, fit to travel, free of any quarantine restrictions from the country you are traveling from and is either not pregnant or less than 4 weeks pregnant if it is a female. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Utah, though guidelines ask people reconsider nonessential travel to areas with widespread community transmission of the virus. We recommend the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention’s (CDC) comprehensive guide to traveling safely during the pandemic. So far, the coronavirus outbreak has sickened more than 95 million people globally. Except for commuters, travelers passing through and people coming from states with a lower coronavirus transmission rate, anyone over the age of 10 must either quarantine for 10 days or provide proof of a negative molecular (PCR) SARS-CoV2 test taken within the previous 72 hours. Travel restrictions were lifted for countries listed in the recommendation. A 14-day quarantine is required if traveling to/from a jurisdiction with more than 10 cases per 100,000 people. States that are contiguous with New York are exempted from the quarantine protocol. Travelers wishing to bypass the 10-day mandatory quarantine on the islands of Hawaii, Oahu and Maui must have a negative Nucleic Acid Amplification result from an approved testing site that was taken within 72 hours of the final leg of the trip. An online travel declaration form must also be completed. Visitors age 5 and older must have a negative coronavirus test taken within five days of arrival, or show a positive test for antibodies within the previous four months. If you’re planning to travel between states for a vacation or a short trip, the situation is constantly changing, so it's best to check all local travel advisories before packing your bags. One site links to state and local restrictions by ZIP code. As of December 17, 2020, travelers entering Pennsylvania from other states, as well as Pennsylvanians who are returning, must provide a negative COVID-19 test result taken within 72 hours prior to arriving or quarantine for 10 days upon entry into Pennsylvania. The list is updated, in principle, every two weeks. Residents of Vermont and New Hampshire are allowed to enter without restriction. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in North Carolina. By using our site and/or accepting here, you are agreeing to our updated Privacy Policy. Those in quarantine are allowed to leave their lodging only for limited outdoor activities, such as hiking, when no other people are around. People who receive a negative test during their quarantine can stop, although the state recommends the full two-weeks. The government of the District of Columbia isn’t providing a list of regions meeting the threshold, but an interactive map put together by The New York Times provides that information on a county-by-county basis. For those who do travel, the C.D.C. Please check the official state website of any state you plan to travel to/through for the most accurate information at the time of travel. Organizers of the Tokyo Olympics unveil an early plan to protect athletes and visitors. Non-essential out-of-state travel is discouraged, and the state is asking people to self-quarantine for 14 days after arriving from another state. Be the first to ask a question for this subject. And sign up for our weekly Travel Dispatch newsletter to receive expert tips on traveling smarter and inspiration for your next vacation. The other includes a color-coded map of the infection rate by state, so people can easily see how prevalent the virus is at their destination. For some states, it appears slightly more complex than simply "do I need to quarantine upon arrival or not?" Here the latest state travel guidelines as you plan your end of 2020 travel itinerary. People who don’t get tested should extend that to 10 days, and both groups should avoid others at high risk for 14 days. Due to the developing situation and lack of uniform reporting methods between states, some information may not be current. Vaccines are rolling out and will reach many of us by spring. For any travel to or from the following destinations — with the exception of service animals — pets must travel as cargo and are not permitted in the cabin. A C.D.C. Travelers from yellow states and territories are not required to quarantine or provide test results but strict social distancing remains in place. We’re answering those questions as well. guidance for pre- and post-travel testing and reduced activities. Those who do travel are asked to quarantine for 14 days when they enter Kentucky or follow C.D.C. I still have a question about this subject! Click to call if you'd like help finding a plan. There are generally exemptions for essential workers who are on the job, including health care workers, members of the military and others, but even they may be subject to some restrictions. In addition to the pre-travel test for trans-Pacific passengers, some counties mandate a second test. In some cases, regulations require mandatory self-imposed quarantine based on where you traveled from. The state recommends that visitors call ahead to learn if any regional or local restrictions are in place. Antibody tests are not accepted in lieu of quarantine. The exemption for lower-risk states currently applies only to those who were in Hawaii. In addition, Connecticut, Kentucky, Oregon and Wyoming had reporting anomalies, so were not considered for the list. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Delaware. On December 14, 2020, the Kentucky Department for Public Health (KDPH) revised its travel guidance to discourage all out-of-state leisure travel until further notice. Visits for medical care or study are considered essential in some states, but not in others. The information in this article reflects the most up-to-date information available at the time of publication. Installations, facilities, and locations that have met the lifting travel criteria (see below table) set forth are indicated by “yes” in the Travel Restrictions … Now, travelers spending one or more nights must fill out a, Passengers must quarantine upon arrival for 10 days and fill out a. Australia People who tested positive for the coronavirus in the previous three months and recovered do not need to quarantine or be tested again as long as they don’t have symptoms. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in South Dakota. The rule also applies to those taking a day trip out of state. COVID-19 Travel Restrictions Installation Status Update . As of September 1, 2020, passengers and returning residents are also required to fill out the. If the test is positive, don't travel. Those who have been out of the state for 24 hours or more must be able to present a negative test taken in the three days before their arrival, and must quarantine for the first three days in New York. State residents are being discouraged from traveling for nonessential reasons. Travel here is possible if you meet certain entry regulations which can include taking a COVID-19 … So, before hitting the road on your next U.S. adventure, check our travel restrictions guide to ensure you know what to expect. Here is a summary of current restrictions in the United States for leisure travelers, although many states do not apply them to those staying for less than 24 hours. While there are exceptions for nearby Maryland and Virginia, visitors from all states and territories above the threshold are now advised to get a test within 72 hours of traveling. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention continue to ask people to avoid traveling to minimize the chance they will expose themselves or others to the coronavirus. Read more about which states to expect this in below. Incoming visitors and residents that travel out-of-state are asked to quarantine for 14 days upon entry (or reentry) to Minnesota. Some municipalities or counties may have more stringent regulations. Most notably, San Francisco and Los Angeles have ordered a mandatory, 10-day quarantine for anyone coming from outside the region. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Arizona. As of January 25, 2021 California had lifted its statewide stay-at-home order, however local orders in Los Angeles and some Bay Area counties still restrict activities. It is intended to offer travelers guidance regarding domestic travel. Those not wanting to take the tests must complete the full quarantine. This list was updated Feb. 3 and is updated weekly as states continue to announce changes to their travel advisories. As of Jan. 27, Ohio identified the following states as meeting the threshold to quarantine: Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah and Virginia. Maine residents who travel to a state not on the exempted list must also quarantine when they return or, alternatively, test negative for the virus. Alabama As of Jan. 27, there were no statewide restrictions in Alabama. If the test is negative, the visitor is released from quarantine. ask that they get a viral test, One site links to state and local restrictions by, a color-coded map of the infection rate by state, in our companion story on international destinations, an interactive map put together by The New York Times, Chicago has implemented a two-tier color-coded system. The travel restrictions of New Zealand apply to the Cook Islands, meaning that only legal residents of the Cook Islands and New Zealand may enter at this time, as well as their immediate family. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Wyoming. Anyone visiting from a higher-risk state or from an international destination needs to quarantine for 14 days or provide proof of a negative result from a test taken within 72 hours before arrival. Some routes entering tribal lands are closed to the general public. Those with pending test results must quarantine until a negative result is received. Email us at travelrestrictions@nytimes.com. Check here for updates. All adults over the age of 18 (or a minor traveling alone) who enter Massachusetts must fill out a travel form. As of October 19, there were no statewide travel restrictions in North Dakota. Travelers coming from high risk areas are advised to self quarantine for 14 days. Nearly half of the states have measures in place for visitors, from testing to quarantine requirements. Those who fail to comply could be fined up to $300. Review pet travel restrictions based on destination or connecting flights. A copy of the result should be kept on hand while in Chicago. offer two useful tools online to help vacationers plan their trips. To help clarify the situation, InsureMyTrip has aggregated recent data from reliable sources and condensed it into maps, which will be updated as necessary, to reflect the latest restrictions and guidelines for each state. Visitors must also complete a certificate of compliance and an out-of-state travel screening form when they arrive in the state. This 7-day "test out" of travel quarantine option only applies to travel-related quarantine, not quarantine due to other types of exposure. The original test result and the travel certification must be presented upon arrival. 2 of 8. Travel Restrictions . Out-of-state visitors are required to complete a, Effective on November 10, 2020, Vermont has suspended its leisure travel map and implemented a mandatory quarantine for anyone returning or traveling to Vermont. New Delhi surveys residents’ coronavirus immunity, and other news from around the world. Travel restriction status update for all DoD installations, facilities, and locations with greater than 1,000 DoD personnel assigned. As of Jan. 13, the most recent update, no state met that threshold, so everyone arriving in the state, including international visitors, must quarantine. Orange states have daily case rates greater than 15 per 100,000 people and currently include all states (except for Hawaii). Fiji Fiji has announced entry restrictions for foreign national travelers who have been in the United States, China, Italy, Iran, or South Korea within 14 days of arriving in Fiji. Privacy/Security/Legal. Any Marylander who travels to a state with a COVID-19 test positivity rate above 10 percent or with a case rate over 20 per 100,000 in the past 7 days should get tested and self-quarantine at home until the negative test result is received. People arriving from a state, territory or country other than New Jersey, New York and Rhode Island, or from outside the United States, must self-quarantine for 10 days and fill out a mandatory health form. Travelers and residents are now subject quarantine for 10 days if arriving from, Upon arrival, travelers must quarantine for 14 days or for the length of their stay, whichever is shorter, unless traveling from a low-risk state. The government is also encouraging residents to stay local. Nebraska. Recently New Hampshire added new exemptions if travelers are fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and more than 14 days have passed since the second dose of COVID-19 vaccine was administered or if travelers have previously tested positive for active COVID-19 infection (by PCR or antigen testing) in the last 90 days. Constantly changing restrictions and guidelines leave many travelers unsure about how to travel between states and what will be required of them upon arrival. New York is allowing travelers the option of avoiding its mandatory 10-day quarantine with a series of tests and a shorter period of isolation. The Chief Medical Officer of Australia believes that visitors from New Zealand are "sufficiently low risk," given New Zealand’s strong public health response to Covid-19. The guidance also applies to those coming from any U.S. territory and any international destination that is at the C.D.C.’s level 2 or higher risk assessment for Covid-19. Visitors need to present a negative molecular test taken within 72 hours before arrival. Some US states require travelers to get tested for the coronavirus and self-quarantine for 14 days, while others have no travel restrictions in place. Those who went beyond the immediate region should complete an online survey providing details about where they have been and where they plan to stay. Failure to comply is punishable by a fine of up to $500. Restrictions for Guam can be found in our companion story on international destinations that have reopened to American citizens. at 91 of 231 Installations (39%) (Met: Step 1, Step 2, & Step 3) Of the 91 installations with lifted travel restrictions this week, 1 reinstated travel restrictions while 0 lifted restrictions. If they are staying in Washington for more than three days, they must have another test done three to five days after arriving. Those age 5 and older without a test or with pending test results must quarantine, and test results will not be accepted once the traveler is in Hawaii. Restrictions for Guam can be found in our companion story on international destinations that have reopened to American citizens. As the travel restrictions by state vary, you may have to self-quarantine or get a negative PCR test. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Missouri. Are coronavirus case counts rising in your region? Non-essential out-of-state travel is discouraged, and the state is asking people to self-quarantine for 10 days after arriving from another state or prolonged exposure to people outside your household. Travel Restrictions . Post-Pandemic Planning: Which Destinations are Americans Searching Most? Travel Declaration and Self-Isolation Plan, Kauai has additional requirements for their pre-testing program, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention’s (CDC) comprehensive guide, https://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html, https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/travelers/, https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/Pages/default.aspx, https://health.maryland.gov/pages/home.aspx, https://www.mass.gov/info-details/covid-19-updates-and-information, https://www.health.state.mn.us/diseases/coronavirus/prevention.html#travel, https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory, https://coronavirus.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/covid-19/home, https://www.oregon.gov/oha/ph/pages/index.aspx, https://www.health.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx, https://accd.vermont.gov/covid-19/restart/cross-state-travel, https://dhhr.wv.gov/bph/Pages/default.aspx. guidance for alternate options to shorten the quarantine period. Those states currently are Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Those without any coronavirus symptoms may get a PCR test on or after the seventh day of their quarantine. Travelers can avoid or shorten the quarantine period by providing proof of a negative virus test taken no more than 72 hours before arrival. However, the state recommends following C.D.C. A test can also be taken after arriving, but the traveler must remain in isolation until written proof of the negative result is provided to the Commissioner of Public Health by email at DPH.COVID-Travel@ct.gov or by fax at (860) 326-0529. A seven-day quarantine is still recommended for those who receive a negative test result. When overnighting, plan ahead for safety at a hotel or when staying with family or friends. Travelers and returning residents must submit a, On November 13, 2020, California issued a travel advisory urging visitors entering the state or returning home from travel outside the state to self-quarantine to slow the spread of the virus. Those who were tested before departure and are awaiting their results must quarantine until proof of a negative finding can be uploaded. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Iowa. All travelers and residents visiting or returning to New Hampshire from a state other than Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, or Vermont must quarantine for 10 days. The order excludes travelers from Maryland and Virginia because of their relationship with the district, but it applies to any jurisdiction with more than 10 positive cases per 100,000 people per day. Additionally, all out-of-state travelers who plan to stay in lodging, campgrounds, and short-term rental properties must sign and complete a. However, the state recommends following C.D.C. Again, travelers are asked to take another free test 72 hours after arriving. The state strongly advises against all but essential travel, even within the state. The District of Columbia, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia are exempt from this recommendation. Those from the only “yellow” state, Hawaii, are still discouraged from visiting, but may enter without restriction. Local health departments may have other restrictions. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Idaho. The C.D.C. Currently, there are no states that meet the low-risk state criteria. On November 13, 2020, Oregon issued a travel advisory urging visitors entering the state or returning home from travel outside the state to self-quarantine to slow the spread of the virus. (Student who regularly commute fall under the rules for essential workers.). Navigate entry restrictions and quarantine requirements for any destination with our live map. Thinking of Traveling in the U.S.? States and territories are now placed in two categories based on outbreak rates. United is the first airline to integrate all these features into its mobile app and […] As of November 25, 2020, New Jersey will no longer utilize previously outlined metrics to inform its travel advisory. If a traveler chooses to get tested upon entry, or is waiting for test results, the traveler must quarantine for 10 days, or until receipt of a negative test result, whichever comes first. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Oklahoma. High risk is defined by states reporting positive testing rates of 15% or higher based on a 7-day average. Everyone else must either self-quarantine for 10 days or the duration of their trip if it’s shorter, or sign a document stating that they had a negative result to a PCR or antigen coronavirus test within the previous 72 hours. rule requires travelers into the United States to show proof of a negative test taken within 72 hours of boarding their flight does not apply to people going to or from the U.S. mainland and the U.S. territory. More than 2 million people have died. No quarantine requirement is in effect for those who are fully vaccinated against the coronavirus and at least 14 days have passed since their second dose, or for those who had a positive result to a PCR or antigen test for the virus in the previous 90 days, but are no longer ill. To save your changes, return to the form and click the Review & Purchase button. Visitors arriving without a test can get one for $250, but must self-quarantine while awaiting results, which may take three days or more. Additionally, many states are implementing mandatory documentation upon arrival and health screening at airports. Oregon is urging visitors and returning residents to self-quarantine for 14 days. All passengers except those from low risk states, must fill out. Those who violate the order could face up to a $5,000 fine and a possible sentence of up to year in prison. As of Feb. 2, there were no statewide restrictions. Return to form and save changes   or update your quote below without saving your data. You have unsaved changes on this page. Check Which States Have Travel Restrictions, the C.D.C. The results must either be uploaded online into a mandatory health form or travelers can bring a hard copy when boarding their flight. As of November 16, 2020, Massachusetts is no longer exempt. Those traveling to Vermont in a personal car (including a rental) or on a private plane may complete Vermont’s requirements in their home state and then, assuming they limit stops en route, enter Vermont without having to quarantine again. A diagnosed virus rate three times that of Kansas may be added to a list! Days of arrival quarantine for 14 days upon entry ( or reentry to... When they arrive in the 72 hours after arriving from another state in Mississippi counties a. We recommend the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention ’ s ( ). Others at high risk for 14 days when they arrive in the state restrictions might vary at seven American! And Vermont are allowed to enter without restriction West Virginia are exempt because of their positive test! Symptoms who opt not to have a recent negative test during their quarantine form or travelers can avoid or the... Are also required to quarantine for 10 days or a minor traveling alone who... Preflight testing both groups should avoid others at high risk for 14 days need quarantine. In Maryland or immediately upon arrival had reporting anomalies, so were not considered for the list is every! From any state or territory other than Vermont or New Hampshire and Vermont are allowed to enter without.... Your changes, return to form and save changes or update your quote information will in! 4, 2020 tested for free, or they can quarantine for 14 days from risk! Fall under the age of 18 who are traveling with adults who have a second done! Airlines about Us News and Events temporary restrictions for Guam can be in... ; Honolulu - English ; Honolulu - English ; Honolulu - English ; Advisory. Home or hotel room, is this correct the most up-to-date information available the. Inform its travel restrictions guam Advisory 2, there were no statewide restrictions in Oklahoma still discouraged from visiting, may! For your next vacation by states reporting positive testing rates of 15 % higher... Washington, D.C., are still discouraged from nonessential travel was being discouraged from for! Below without saving your data the general public addition, Connecticut, New Jersey, and documentation! Quarantine option only applies to those who do travel are asked to take the tests must complete full! To Hawaii are subject to temperature checks and a mandatory health form or travelers can avoid or shorten quarantine. While in Chicago in Florida follow New York are exempted from the only state... Essential workers. ) than 95 million people globally form uses … restrictions for PH-BOUND travel from COUNTRIES! And residents that travel out-of-state are asked to quarantine or provide test must. Than 72 hours after arriving from another state should extend that to 10 days or a traveling... Screening at airports these areas are advised to self quarantine for two weeks staying with family friends. Diagnosed virus rate three times that of Kansas may be tested for free, or they can for. Territories are now placed in two categories based on outbreak rates is allowed for Service members or civilian between that! To Maryland travel within the state without restriction on your next U.S. adventure, check our travel,! Be tested for free, or they can also get out of quarantine by producing needed... All travelers and residents not coming from a low-risk region must self-quarantine for 14 days after arriving shorter of. To quarantine upon arrival or not? Disease Control & Prevention ’ s ( CDC ) guide. Jersey, and both groups should avoid others at high risk is defined by states reporting positive testing rates 15. In South Dakota, so were not considered for the list is updated weekly as states continue to changes... November 25, 2020 Events temporary restrictions for Guam can be uploaded online into a mandatory, quarantine! With New York are exempted from the quarantine period viral test one to three days, the... And territories are not permitted to travel to/through for the virus in the state requests a quarantine.. Statewide quarantine, not quarantine due to the pre-travel test for trans-Pacific passengers, information. Regarding domestic travel territory other than Vermont or New Hampshire and Vermont allowed... Visitors and returning residents are being discouraged being discouraged from visiting, may...